First Oath

Although not technically part of the DP documentation, I’d like to share the text of my First Oath.  I made this oath under the full moon just before Samhain last year.

In Elder Times, the White Hart was the harbringer of a quest.
May the spirits of this land, and the spirit of the White Hart hear me now.
I, Kévin, declare that I am a Pagan,
that I am a follower of the White Hart seeking the Elder Ways,
that I am a worshipper of the Elder Gods.

With this oath, I set myself upon this quest,
To follow the White Hart along the Druid’s path,
and I vow to make my dedication plain.

I make this offering to the spirt of the White Hart.

And in return I call upon and ask the White Hart to be my symbol of virtue,
And I vow to pursue virtue in my life,
To do right by my kin, my friends, and my community,

I call upon and ask the White Hart to be my symbol of piety,
And I vow to pursue piety in my life,
To make my Paganism real and keep the rites and work that call to me.

I call upon and ask the White Hart to show me the Elder Paths,
And I vow to pursue these Ways through study,
To fill my mind with knowledge, wisdom, and truth.

These things I swear to the Gods, and before the spirts of this land.
So mote it be.

2 thoughts on “First Oath

  1. Kévin,

    What a pleasure to read this Oath. I’m so glad you shared it. Thank you.

    I have a feeling I will be checking back to read your blog very often.

    Blessings to you on this journey.

    Teo

  2. Pingback: Dedicant Oath « At the sign of the White Hart

Leave a Reply

